Best Audiobooks Ever Recorded?

AudiobooksTrue, it is subjective.  And there are loads of Top 10 lists online, and hundreds of bloggers saying this or that is “the best,” meaning in reality their own favorites.  But what exactly do they mean?  The best self help titles? The best mysteries by the few authors the blogger has encountered?  The most popular bestsellers?  In my own case, as a reviewer for over 16 years for various publications, I have listened to literally thousands of audiobooks, and sampled thousands more.  Furthermore, I care not at all about how many copies were sold (nor should any legitimate reviewer).  By “best,” then, I mean most powerful, original, memorable.  Put another way, if a gunman cornered me in an alley and asked me to name my favs, this is what I’d stammer or stutter.  Of course there are many fine performances not on the list, but I wouldn’t want to keep the gunman waiting, he’d think I was stalling.  And now HERE is that list.  I have done my duty to God and Country.  Not to mention you.  Enjoy.

This audiobook is narrated by Chris Vournazos for Audible.

My favorite listens of 2012 are:

Goodbye for Now by Laurie Frankel
The Sweet Life in Paris by David Lebovitz
The Architecture of Happiness by Alain de Botton
Joseph Anton by Salmon Rushdie
The Garner Files by James Garner
The Watchers by Jon Steele
Little America by Rajiv Chandrasekaran
Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain
Die, Snow White! Die, Damn You! by Yuri Rasovsky
Need You Now by James Grippando

Questions for Audiobook Narrators HERE.

Audiobook narrator

Your fav audiobook narrator, whom you never met in person.

       

2 thoughts on “Best Audiobooks Ever Recorded?

  1. Hey Jonathan,
    I, too, love Audiobooks. I’ll have to look into the ones you mentioned. I love ‘The Burglar Who . . .’ series by Lawrence Block and Brendan Fraser’s frolicking reading of ‘The Dragon Rider’ by Cornelia Funke. I enjoy the spiritual collections of Caroline Myss since ‘Anatomy of the Spirit’, all of Wayne Dyer and Deepak Chopra – on and on. I love the written word and I love to be read to. Thanks for taking me on a walk through these favorites.

  2. I am going to give the Audio-books in your list, that I have not already listened to, a try thanks. I have a couple MUST listens that are not on the list.
    1. Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts
    2.The Art of Racing In The Rain by Garth Stein

    On a much much lesser note, the George R.R Martin series The Songs of Ice and Fire are ok listens, but 1 and 2 are MUST listens for anyone who is a fan of Audio-books – they will make you wish they never ended!

Leave a Reply

